Question of the Day: Weekend Goal

4 08 2006

What’s one thing that you’d like to get done this weekend? Is there anything holding you back?

I have no serious plans for this weekend. I just need to get caught up a bit. Caught up with the laundry, caught up with the grocery shopping, caught up with the housekeeping. Sounds like fun, huh?

What’s holding me back? Well, the montony of it all. I work hard, and I work long hours, every week—and, really, the last thing I want to do on the weekend is more drudgery. Sigh. All work and no play makes Jay, well, you know.

I’d rather go to the mall and window-shop for the watch of my dreams; plan an upcoming trip to Las Vegas; figure out how the hell I’m going to, um, “mark” my 40th birthday; get in a car with a dozen CDs and drive and drive and drive, stopping for waffles and ice cream at roadside diners; forget that I haven’t dusted in my apartment since, oh, springtime.

I’ll let you know how I got on with Mr. Clean.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 08 2006
LilRed

I already did it, friend. I met the Oklahoma City Running Club at Lake Hefner for a six mile run. I ran the first 3.5 miles. Then I had to alternate: run a half mile, walk a half mile. Either way, I mad it.

5 08 2006
Jay

That is great, LilRed! I can’t imagine running 3.5 miles–let alone making it six miles altogether–in the Oklahoma August heat.

I hope the rest of your weekend is full of margaritas and palm fronds.

Leave a Reply

