Question of the Day: Easy Like Sunday Morning

13 08 2006

Flaming Chalice

What do you usually do on Sunday?

Sleep ’til 11 a.m. Watch poker on TV. Relax. Think about going to the mall, procrastinate, end up going nowhere—except, maybe, the water ice stand.

Then it’s over. Sunday night is actually one of the lowest moments of the week for me. The weekend, including the freedom it represents, is over. Soon, I’ll be back at work, and I’ll have the entire work week in front of me. Admittedly, it could be worse. I’m lucky enough to have a good job, so I don’t really dread the week the way I once did (or could). But, still, it’s something. Even when you have a good job, work is an imposition. On Sunday night, that’s on my mind.

I sort of wish my Sunday routine were different. If I haven’t made it clear here already, I’m a Unitarian Universalist. But I don’t attend a “regular” brick-and-mortar UU church on Sundays. (Instead, I’m a member of the Church of the Larger Fellowship, the Unitarian Universalist Association’s online congregation.) At least once in awhile, I think it would be nice to visit a brick-and-mortar church I thought of as my own.

And why don’t I? There’s probably no good reason. Although it’s not far in actual distance, the nearest UU church isn’t all that accessible to me. I don’t own a car, and it would be quite a production to get there via public transit. Another UU church is easier for me to get to via mass tranist, but—like the first church—it currently doesn’t have a minister. I find this really quite ironic, by the way. There’s apparently a glut of UU ministers, but so many UU churches seem now to be “between” ministers. For instance, the minister at the church nearest to me recently retired, yet that church has only just begun the one- or two-year process to select a new minister. I can understand some of the reasons for that (but, um, why couldn’t the process begin sooner?), but it’s really quite off-putting for someone like me who’s looking to establish a relationship with a church. Right or wrong, I just think I won’t know what kind of place a church is if I don’t know the minister the congregation has chosen….

(Yikes, was that a long digression or what?!) Anyway, I didn’t follow either my normal or my desired Sunday routine today. A friend recently purchased a new house, and I went there to help with the painting. I spent the day in charge of trim work. And you know what? I’m seriously tired. The trim work on the spiral staircase kicked my butt. Ironically enough, I’m going to need the work week ahead just to recover from the weekend.

Actions

Information

One response

22 08 2006
LilRed

Sleep late. Get up. Eat. Take a nap. Get up. Eat. Go back to bed.

Leave a Reply

