Question of the Day: Tasty Thanksgiving Treat

20 11 2006

Cranberries
What’s your favorite Thanksgiving dish?
Submitted by Brennan.

Not only is my mother’s stuffing my favorite Thanksgiving dish, but it’s probably my favorite thing about my absolute favorite holiday. That’s a lot of favorites, huh? Anyway, Mom’s stuffing is cornbread-based, seasoned with plenty of sage and turkey, um, juices. Having lived here and there and everywhere for the past 20 years, I know there are many different kinds of Thanksgiving stuffing. Depending on the region, you might find oyster stuffings, chestnut stuffings, apple-flavored stuffings, and on and on and on. If you’ve ever enjoyed a Thanksgiving meal in Oklahoma, Texas, or Arkansas, though, you’ve probably tasted stuffing pretty much like my mom’s. That said, hers is the best I’ve ever had.

Sadly, I won’t be home for Thanksgiving this year. Traveling across the country for what amounts to a long weekend has never been easy, of course. Flying anywhere is so much worse now—with the long security lines, the tiny bottles of gel in plastic baggies, the shoeless shuffles through security checkpoints, the crowded airplane compartments, the late departures, the missed connections. I just can’t face all that twice in the course of three of four days.

So I won’t be home this year to enjoy Mom’s stuffing, turkey (I love turkey), homemade cranberry sauce, candied sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes and gravy, fruit salad, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, and coconut cream pie. Gosh, I don’t know how she cooks all of that. And I don’t know how I eat it all, but I always manage.

This year, I’ll be having Thanksgiving dinner at a restaurant, joined by a friend whose family also lives a long way away. I’m sure the restaurant will fix a competent Thanksgiving meal, and I’m sure I’ll eat too much.

But I bet I won’t like the stuffing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

