Question of the Day: My Holiday Wish List

18 12 2006

Ornaments
What’s on your holiday wish list?

I don’t have a holiday wish list. There’s really no point.

I’ll receive gifts this season from my parents, my sister and brother-in-law, and a couple of close friends. None of them would pay the least bit of attention to a holiday wish list. My parents will give me money. My sister will buy me a shirt or a sweater, or a shirt and a sweater, and the brother-in-law will sign his name to the card. The friends will buy me books, of their choosing, that I may or may not read three or four years from now.

I’ve had an Amazon wish list forever, and it’s easy to find, of course. My mom got me a book from it once, maybe 10 years ago, but that’s the most, er, “success” I’ve ever had with it. Mostly, my Amazon wish list serves as a reminder, to me, of what I’d like to buy when I get a few extra bucks….

If I had a holiday wish list, what would be on it? Well, let’s see:

  • Ever since I saw it in a boutique in Las Vegas, I’ve been itching for this Jimi Hendrix Experience (yes, really) shirt. The store didn’t have my size, or I’d definitely own it now. I may appear to be a mild-mannered (i.e., boring) professional, but I have a decidedly non-mild-mannered taste in button-down shirts. That’s my trademark. Oh, and it may be the reason I can’t get a date.
  • I’m also keen to own two or three more English Laundry shirts. I purchased one in Las Vegas—hey, at the same boutique—and one simply isn’t enough. The shirts are intricate and colorful and, well, probably gayer than a lavender boutonniere. I’m smitten.
  • I certainly don’t need any more books; the to-be-read queue is enormous already. That said, I’m interested in reading The God Delusion, by Richard Dawkins, a book that my churchgoing, Bible-believing relatives are particularly unlikely to purchase. But, for me, a book advocating atheism is really, really what Christmas is all about.

    I probably won’t get anything even remotely similar to what’s on this list. Still, I promise to be suitably gracious about the sweater I’ll get from my sister. I’ll let you know what color it is.

    Actions

    Information

    Leave a Reply

    