If you’re not interested in the Supreme Court, maybe the snowshoes will keep you reading.

13 02 2007

Supreme Conflict
Sorry about being so quiet lately. Life sucks a little bit lately. That’s probably not permanent, huh? God, I hope not.

Anyway, tonight’s big adventure was a trip to the National Constitution Center for a program called “The Supreme Court Revealed.” You’re probably nodding off now…but I’ve been fascinated by the U.S. Supreme Court since I was a kid. On the program were the authors of two recent bestsellers about the Court. Jan Crawford Greenburg, who’s currently the Supreme Court correspondent for ABC, talked about Supreme Conflict: The Inside Story of the Struggle for Control of the United States Supreme Court, her very cool behind-the-scenes look at the Rehnquist Court. (If you liked The Brethren 20 years ago, and you know I did, Greenburg’s book is a must-read.) Law professor Jeffrey Rosen, author of the companion book to the recent PBS series on the Court, also spoke.

Both Greenburg and Rosen were awfully entertaining. I especially enjoyed Greenburg’s stories about current Court members. Rosen, unsurprisingly, was much more professorial. Although his mostly historical material was more familiar to me, I was impressed with his passion for the re-telling of it. The entire program lasted an hour and a half, and I easily could’ve listened to Greenburg and Rosen for another 90 minutes.

The program was videotaped for showing on C-SPAN2’s Book TV. I was afraid that would mean that the Q-and-A session would be filled with oddballs asking questions just so they could see themselves on their TiVos. Happily, there really wasn’t much of that.

The weather was miserable tonight in Philly, and I guess I’m proud of myself for not just schlepping right home after work. (Well, not all that proud. It’s not like I won the Nobel Prize.) The program was worth it. After the program, though, the commute home was ugly. My train never showed, and the ever-helpful transit authorities never made an announcement. So I basically stood outside in the sleet and cold for 50 minutes until the next train, which was itself 20 minutes late, finally arrived. Then the train crrrraaaaawlllled all the way to my stop.  I could’ve snowshoed home faster, I bet.  But if I’d done that, I’d probably have no feeling in my toes right now.  Oddly enough, I like having feeling in my toes.

And, oh, I don’t own snowshoes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

