Wiki Wednesday #2

11 04 2007

It’s time for this week’s installment.

1.) Go to Wikipedia.
2.) Click on “Random article.”
3.) Report on the outcome.

Here’s this week’s puzzling result:

Tetrabromomethane

Tetrabromomethane, CBr4, also known as carbon tetrabromide, is a carbon bromide. Both names are acceptable under IUPAC nomenclature, depending on whether it is considered as an organic or an inorganic compound. In combination with triphenylphosphine, CBr4 is used in the Appel reaction, which converts alcohols to alkyl bromides.

Yikes. Once again, it’s doubtful you’re going to get anything witty or insightful out of me about that! Actually, the Wikipedia entry here is fairly uninformative. I had to do a little research on my own to learn that tetrabromomethane is used as a solvent. Fascinating, huh?

This Wiki Wednesday has me feeling I should’ve paid more attention in science class. But just like last week, this foreign (to me) science word is fun to say.

Yes, I’m shallow.

Actions

Information

One response

11 04 2007
Jay

P.S. IUPAC is the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry. I’m obviously not a member.

Leave a Reply

