Question of the Day: My Best Post

16 04 2007

Self-Awarded Blue Ribbon
Out of all the posts you’ve written, which is your favorite? Why?

Submitted by Adam.

Hmm, this is a tough one. I’ve written quite a few posts, and not many of them are very, um, interesting or memorable. (Ouch, I just hurt myself!) In reverse order, though, here are what I think are my Top 3 posts (drumroll, please):

3.) “You were wearing a blue bow-tie on the 8:43 train….,” which deconstructs an odd Craigslist Missed Connections post. According to the Craigslist poster, he frequently sat (still does, I sort of hope!) next to another man on the train and the two of them “play[ed] this strange game where we push our weight into each other.” This caused me to wonder if I needed to re-draw the line between jerky and flirtatious…. Really, do I? Maybe that’s where I’ve been going wrong all these years.

2.) “Dear Soulmate-Who-Got-Away,” in which—on the eve of my 40th birthday (gulp)—I tried to figure out what, if anything, I should do about that great love of my life. Sigh. I must’ve linked to this entry 20 times since I wrote it…and after all these months, I still don’t really know what I could’ve or should’ve done (or might still do???) about SWGA. “For my 40th birthday, should I call you?” I asked. “Should I appear on your doorstep? Or, Soulmate-Who-Got-Away, should I just give up on you?” I did none of those things.

1 .) “A Return to the Productive Life,” which, I’m sure, looks like a little piece of blog puff lint. But it really showcases my sense of humor, while conveying the craziness of my work life. If you’re looking for Jay-ness, or eau de Jay, look no further than this:

I spent the morning finding precisely the right words to convey the, um, rich diversity of all things citrus-y. And let me tell you, the result was a stunning piece of work. That alien-reader of mine will not mistakenly put an orange slice in his next glass of iced tea. Or put limoncello, instead of orange curaçao, in his next mai tai. Or wonder which citrus product is traditionally used to season Atlantic cod.

Yes, my memo is going to satisfy a real need.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

