Snow Day?!

16 04 2007

The nor’easter that caused all those baseball cancellations yesterday dropped over four inches of rain on my neighborhood—and then, overnight, the rain turned to snow. I woke up about 2 a.m. to the sound of sleet hitting my bedroom window; ever the optimist, though, I convinced myself it was turning back to rain. Imagine my surprise disappointment, then, when I woke up to several inches of snow (of the slush-y variety).

There are power outages in my area. A friend who lives just to the east of me has no power, exactly like a friend who lives just to the west of me! I’m obviously lucky in that regard. (The neighborhood is an old one, with lots of mature trees just ready to drop tired limbs on power lines.) But it’s just a miserable day. There are high wind warnings and flood warnings. It definitely doesn’t feel like a Philly April day today.

For me (so far, anyway), the worst part is that my train line is down. I’m sure that’s the result of the power outages in the area. So that means a forced vacation day for me. I have plenty of vacation days, but I sure hate to blow one on the weather.

As we’ve covered recently, I should clean the bathroom. But don’t be surprised if I post eight times today instead. Hee.

P.S. I was supposed to make my first Phillies game of the season tonight, but I’m really, really, really hoping it’s a rainout snowout godawful-weather-out. Is that wrong? Not only is there the complication of the train service, but I just don’t want to sit outside in this mess and the cold.

Update: The game was a rainout.  Whew.  The make-up game’s on June 29.  Man, that sounds so warm right about now.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

