Wiki Wednesday #3

19 04 2007

This week’s installment is late. (I fell asleep last night before I could finish. That’s what it’s like to be middle-aged, by the way.)

1.) Go to Wikipedia.
2.) Click on “Random article.”
3.) Report on the outcome.

Here’s this week’s result:

Pine Manor College

Pine Manor College, or PMC, is a private, liberal arts women’s college located in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. It was founded in 1911 and serves approximately 500 students, 75% of whom live on the 60-acre campus.

Happily enough, this is the first time the Wiki Wednesday hasn’t sent me back to science class. Still, I’ve never heard of Pine Manor College, but it’s definitely cool that it’s the most diverse liberal arts college in the country. It’s less cool that U.S. News and World Report classifies it as a fourth-tier school.

I can’t imagine attending a college with only 500 students. Would there have been enough majors and activities to entertain me? I don’t know. I was always itching to take a course in linguistic anthropology or to join the League of Sci-Fi Fan Fiction Writers or something.

And I definitely wouldn’t have wanted to attend a single-sex college. I probably wouldn’t have had many friends, but, on the plus side, my hormones would have been raging at all times.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

