Wiki Wednesday #5

3 05 2007

(Oops! I forgot to do this week’s installment yesterday. Can I turn this in late?)

1.) Go to Wikipedia.
2.) Click on “Random article.”
3.) Report on the outcome.

Here’s this week’s result:

Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden are an English heavy metal band from east London. The band were formed in 1975 by bassist Steve Harris, formerly a member of Gypsy’s Kiss and Smiler. Iron Maiden are one of the most successful and influential bands in the heavy metal genre, having sold 80 million albums worldwide. The band won the Ivor Novello award for international achievement in 2002.

Hey, this is two WWs in a row that I know something about. But not that much. I have eclectic musical taste, and I do like some heavy metal—but I’ve rarely traveled further down that road than Metallica, Alice in Chains, or the odd Faster Pussycat cover of “You’re So Vain.” Thus, I’m surprised to read that Iron Maiden is considered one of the best heavy metal bands of all time. It just hasn’t made an impression on me.

What else can I say? Well, this Wikipedia entry was obviously (and fittingly) written by someone who speaks, er, British English. It always sounds charming to my Okie ear to hear someone say something like “the band were.” It’s a little bit weird that whether a word is singular or plural depends on dialect….

If there are any Iron Maiden fans out there, what’s the one Iron Maiden song that should absolutely be on my iPod?

P.S. If, like me, you’d never heard of the Ivor Novello Awards, this might help.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

