Baltimore Orioles 8, Oakland A’s 4

27 05 2007

A couple of friends and I drove down to Baltimore today for the afternoon game against the A’s. I’ve been to Baltimore several times, but this was the first time I’d ever been inside Oriole Park at Camden Yards…. Anyway, we rooted for the home team, and—happily enough—the Orioles prevailed, 8-4. The Park was charming, although I think the sightlines tend to be a little better here in Philly at Citizens Bank Park.

A few random observations:

  • At that point in the national anthem when the singer gets to “O say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave,” Orioles fans yell out “O’s” instead of, um, “O.” That would seem disrespectful in a lot of places, wouldn’t it? I thought it was sort of charming, though.
  • During the seventh-inning stretch, the Orioles go, as some teams do, with “God Bless America.” But instead of segueing into “Take Me Out to the Ballgame,” the Orioles go to “Thank God I’m a Country Boy.” Odd. At least it wasn’t the John Denver version….
  • We had pretty darn good (and shady!) seats out in right field (lower reserve, section nine), and they were cheap ($15 apiece). Even though it was 90+° today, there was a nice breeze. Strangely, during the entire game, only one vendor ventured up into our seats. At a Phillies game, there are two or three vendors in a given section every inning. Somewhere in between those extremes is the right vendor-to-inning ratio, surely.

After the game, we headed over to Fells Point for some seafood and people-watching. The next time I’m in Baltimore, I definitely want to spend more time in the neighborhood. I’ve overlooked Fells Point in the past.  While the Inner Harbor has become dominated by chain restaurants and shops (Best Buy, Barnes & Noble, ESPN Zone), Fells Point still feels sort of “authentic.”

P.S. One the way down to Baltimore, I persuaded my friends to stop at Waffle House. One of my friends, a New Yorker, had never been to a Waffle House. Since I couldn’t persuade her to have either a pecan waffle or grits, though, she still hasn’t had the Waffle House experience.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

