Wiki Wednesday #11

13 06 2007

It’s time for the WW!

1.) Go to Wikipedia.
2.) Click on “Random article.”
3.) Report on the outcome.

Ulvåsa

Ulvåsa is a castle by lake Boren in Östergötland, Sweden. The construction of the new castle began in the 16th century and it got its present architecture in the early 19th century.

The medieval Ulvåsa was situated next to the new castle. Today, there are ruins left of the manorhouse where St Bridget of Sweden lived most of her life.

I love castles. One of the first, best papers I wrote in high school, in fact, was about castles, mostly English and Welsh varieties. (I bet that excites you!) I don’t know anything about Swedish castles, though, and there isn’t anything in this article—Wikipedia actually classifies it as a stub—that would help me differentiate Swedish castles.

I feel like that’s something I ought to know. When I was a kid, I was absolutely fascinated by Sweden. I was interested in Sweden’s extensive social welfare system. (I was a weird kid, ok?) I was interested in Swedish glasswork. (Weird kid, ok?) And, quite frankly, I had one of my first major crushes on Björn Borg. If you had asked me at age, oh, 14, I would’ve predicted that I’d’ve visited Sweden repeatedly by the time I was, ugh, 40. (Especially if Björn Borg had only just waited for me!) But, sadly, that hasn’t happened. At this point, I’ll be lucky to make it to Stockholm even once.

P.S. What’s that diacritical mark above the first a in Ulvåsa called, anyway? I wish we had marks like that in English. (I started thinking things like that long before I was 14, too.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

