Wiki Wednesday #24

12 09 2007

Camping Sign
The routine’s the same as always, of course:

1.) Go to Wikipedia.
2.) Click on “Random article.”
3.) Report on the outcome.

Lake Jocassee

Lake Jocassee is a 7,500 acre, 300-foot deep lake located in northwest South Carolina created by the state in partnership with Duke Power in 1973. The clean and cold Appalachian mountain rivers that feed the lake keep its waters cool year-round. The hydro-electric dam that formed the lake is 385 feet high and 1,750 feet long. The lake is home to Devils Fork State Park.

If my WWs are any indication, there are a lot of geographic entries in Wikipedia! As for this one, well, I’ve never been to Lake Jocassee, and I guess I’ve never even heard of it. I don’t know South Carolina all that well…. But it must be a fairly small lake. According to the Wikipedia entry, Lake Jocassee has a surface area of 7,500 acres—big but not enormous. By comparison, when I was a kid, my family spent many, many summer weekends camping and boating at Eufaula Lake in northeastern Oklahoma. Also a man-made lake, Eufaula Lake covers 102,000 acres. That’s over 13 times larger than Lake Jocassee.

Did you have me pictured as a camper? I’m guessing you didn’t. I certainly loved it as a child, though. I loved swimming and boating, and my great childhood failure is that I just could never learn to water-ski. (Even my mom water-skiied!) I can’t really imagine enjoying camping as an adult. I’d feel dirty; the bugs would bother me; I wouldn’t want to sleep in a tent; etc. I’m obviously spoiled.

Actually, as one of my friends recently theorized, camping may be one of those things that skips a generation. My parents loved it, spent much of their free time doing it. Having experienced that in my own childhood, I now see camping as something close to work—certainly not as relaxation. If I had children, would they be ignorant enough of the realities of camping to romanticize it and start the cycle all over again?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

